Department of Chemistry Academic Year 2010-11 News

Graduation 2011

Class of 2011

The Department proudly awarded degrees to the following Chemistry majors at commencement. We congratulate the Class of 2011 on their achievements and wish everyone continued success. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Name Future plans
Ashley Balentine Medical School, Temple University School of Medicine.
Shernice Brown Information Pending
Stacy Culler Information Pending
Twyla CummingsMedical School, Eastern Virginia Medical College.
Leopold Green Ph.D., Biomedical Engineering, University of California, Riverside
Aaryn HarrisonMedical School, Morehouse College of Medicine.
Jessica JacksonM.S./Medical Science, Hampton University
Carmesha JordanInformation Pending
Angelique KaterDirect Employment, Morphix Technologies, Inc.
KaShawna ParkerInformation Pending
Fallon PetersonInformation Pending
Marcus StephensMedical School, Meharry Medical College
Tara WhiteInformation Pending
Members of the dais singing the Alma Mater at the 141st Commencement.

The commencement ceremony was held on Sunday May 8th, 2011 and Dr. Bill Cosby was the keynote speaker at commencement.

Annual Dinner 2010

Dr. Ndip and Kia Walcott
Dr. Edmund Ndip and Kia Walcott.
Dr. Shanthi Paranawithana and Weslee Glenn
Dr. Shanthi Paranawithana and Weslee Glenn.

On December 10th, 2010, the Department of Chemistry held its annual dinner and awards ceremony and as usual, the buffet tables were filled with delicious foods prepared by faculty and staff. Awards were given to our outstanding freshman, sophomore and junior undergraduates and we heard reflections by students from each year group.

We were pleased to welcome back Wesley Glenn and Kia Walcott to speak about their experiences in graduate school and reminisce about their time at Hampton. Invited guests included Dr. Robert Dixon, Dean of the School of Science and Dr. Claudia Rankins, a previous Dean and current NSF Program Director. Besides enjoying the stories, food and fellowship, there were plenty of leftovers for students to take home and enjoy later while studying for finals.

Dr. Sidney Altman

Dr. Sidney Altman lecturing.
Dr. Sidney Altman lecturing.
Dr. Altman with Chemistry students.
Dr. Altman with chemistry students.
Dr. Altman with Dr. Urasa
Dr. Altman with Dr. Urasa.

The Department of Chemistry was selected to host the 2010 American Institute of Physics Nobel Laureate Visitation Program on December 2-3, 2010. This event brought to the campus, Dr. Sidney Altman, the 1984 Nobel Laureate for Chemistry and Sterling Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology at Yale University. Dr. Altman presented a public lecture titled "Origin of Life" in the Student Center Ballroom on Thursday evening and a technical session on Friday in the Student Center Theater. On Friday, Dr. Altman also visited several Chemistry classes and students were invited to an informal luncheon to interact with Dr. Altman. Two Chemistry undergraduates participated in the public lecture program, assisting with introductions.

In addition to support from The Research Corporation, the program was co-sponsored by the Hampton Roads Section of the American Chemical Society and the Hampton University Honors College.

Related Articles

Measurenet Expansion

Enhancing the undergraduate curriculum with new technology has been a departmental focus. The installation of a networked data collection system called MeasureNet has been expanding. Data workstations are now in three laboratories for use in Quantitative Analysis, Physical Chemistry and Forensics Lab. Plans are to further expand the network into Biochemistry and General Chemistry.

The Measure Net system includes probes for temperature, voltage, pH and pressure measurements. Other components include ion-selective electrodes and dual beam colorimeters.

MeasureNet Homepage

MeasureNet stations in Forensic Chemistry Lab

New Instrumentation

Flame Photometer
Flame Photometer
Mass Spectrometer
Mass Spectrometer

    Installation of several new systems is now completed. The systems include:

    • Cole Parmer dual chamber digital flame photometer for Na/K/Li determinations
    • Varian ICP-OES 720: Inductively coupled plasma (ICP) optical emission spectrotroscopy (OES) for sub ppm range elemental determinations
    • Varian 500-MS with TurboDDS Ion Trap Mass Spectrometer
    • Agilent Liquid Chromatograph Series 1100 with DAD