Department of Chemistry Academic Year 2007-08 News

Graduation 2008

Dr. Urasa and Members of the Class of 2008

May 11th, 2008 was graduation day and the Department of Chemistry staff and faculty congratulate our majors for their accomplishments and hard work.

Student Accomplishments

Taneidra Chappell is planning to teach after graduation and Natsha Ferguson was recognized as the first graduate of the Forensic Chemistry Option. Ms. Ferguson will be working with Teach for America.

Weslee Glenn received the Outstanding Senior Acheivement Award from the Department of Chemisty. The Award is given in recognition of a chemistry major's outstanding academic performance along with their committment to service. Mr. Glenn is headed to the Massachesetts Institute of Technology to further his studies in organic chemistry.

Kaiulani Houston is headed to the National Institutes of Health for a post bacalaureate research program and Walter Martin will be studying at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry.

Dea Slone received the American Chemical Society, Hampton Roads Chapter, Award and will enter a post bacalaureate program.Chandra Pulliam and Tashee Washington are currently undecided and waiting to hear from several programs.

Service Campaigns

The Chemistry Club sponsored a food drive for the Pennisula Foodbank. Students enrolled in all Chemistry classes were asked to participate. Boxes of food were collected and delivered to the Peninsula Foodbank. Thanks to The Chemistry Club, the Chemistry Club Officers and all of those who participated for a job well done!

The "Chem Majors for Life" team participated in the Relay for Life held at Hampton University's Armstrong Stadium on April 12-13, 2008. The team was one of 48 who helped raise $12,613.94 for the American Cancer Society.

Faculty Accomplishments

At Graduation 2008, Dr. Edmund M. Ndip recieved the Edward L. Hamm, Sr. Distinguished Teaching Award.

The Award, initiated in 1994, was named by former Hampton University trustee Edward L. Hamm, Jr. in honor of his father. Each year faculty members are selected for recognition by President Harvey after being nominated by their peers and / or students.

The Edward L. Hamm, Sr. Distinguished Teaching Award recipients are recognized for their teaching excellence and for inspiring students with a passion for learning.  The Chemistry department continues to excel in receiving recognition from the University with our committment to innovatives in teaching.

Annual Departmental Dinner

The annual dinner for the Department of Chemistry was held on December 7, 2007 in the Student Center. After enjoying a delicious meal of pasta, salad, chicken and ribs, each class gave a reflection on their experience as Chemistry majors here at Hampton University. The universal theme was the level of support from everyone—faculty, staff and fellow students and that theme echoed again when the invited guests spoke. Seniors offered a holiday Song as a Gift to All…….”This Christmas.” Dr. Urasa presented awards to Outstanding Freshman, Sophmores and Juniors.

Dr. Handy is currently working in the Boston area and Dr Waddell is a current faculty member of the Hampton University Department of Chemistry.The invited guests for the evening spoke on careers in Chemistry and their experiences in graduate school.

New Computing Faculty

The Computational Chemistry Laboratory is now open on a limited basis.

The Laboratory was made possible by a grant from the National Science Foundation Course, Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement (CCLI) program and the facilities network was made possible by Hampton University.

The Laboratory is the Department of Chemistry’s new state-of-the-art, 17-station computational chemistry computing facilitywhich provides the department and the campus with cutting-edge facilities for instruction in important areas of chemistry and biochemistry.  Each workstation gives students and faculty access to a variety of software for use in molecular modeling, structural studies and ab initio procedures. Connection to a Linux server using Reflection software provides access to other modeling software packages and high performance computing.

By integrating computational activities into the Chemistry curriculum, Dr. Edmund Ndip, the director of the facility, hopes to impact student achievement and interests. Students will learn to perform computations, optimize chemical geometries, and generate three-dimensional molecular models.

Research Day Highlights

Students working with Dr. Shanthi Paranawithana won third place in the School of Science Student Research Poster Presentation held March 14, 2008. The title of the poster was  "Cloning of two genes that encode potential cell division regulators of Mycobacterium tuberculosis"

Dr. Paranawithana with her research group

Dr. Paranawithana with her
undergraduate research students

University of Virginia ACS Poster Session

The American Chemical Society, Virginia Section, held its annual poster session on April 18th,2008 at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. Emphasizing undergraduate student research, the poster session was also combined with awards to outstanding senior chemistry majors from colleges and universities in the Virginia Section. The Hampton Roads Section will honor outstanding students on April 22nd at the section meeting be held at Old Dominion University.

UVA poster Session

Students and faculty attending the American
Chemical Society, Virginia Section, Poster Session

Virginia Academy of Science

The Virginia Academy of Science held it's 86th annual meeting at Hampton University on May 21-23, 2008. The Department greeted fellow chemists from around the Commonwealth of Virginia. Hampton University's Department of Chemistry hosted the VAS Chemistry Section with 13 presentations given.


As always, we look forward to hearing from alumni and hope that everyone is doing well. Don't hesitate to contact us.